Sorry for the 6 month hiatus…

I know it sounds cliche, but I have been very busy. I am on the home stretch of a teacher credential program, and stragely enough, graduate school uses up alot of your time. I have a toddler at home who rarely gives me time to get work done on the computer (he loves his dad, what can I say) and my wife and I just recently had another child (another boy, so no wedding receipt in my future) and I’m going to try to post minimum once per week for now, hopefully two or three times per week, but I make no promises. To start the (relative) new year for me blogging, I’d like to start with a list that has been mulling around in my head for a while now, and it’s word usages that really bug me.

1. ax instead of ask, and mines instead of mine: I was axing (asking) my brother how he did his homework, cause I don’t know how to do mines (mine). This just sounds ignorant.

2. Double Negatives: another one I hear alot being around teenagers, and even though I know it is an accepted part of the lexicon, I still feel they should be abolished. I didn’t do nothing! So if you did not do nothing, then you must have done something, right. Oh, you meant you didn’t do anything. Well then you’re free to go.

3. Saying things are flavored when they are in reality scented: What flavor is that candle? Uh, wax flavored? However it has a scent reminiscent of a meadow after a summer rain.

If anyone has anything to add to the list, please add them in the comments section; I enjoy your input.

About Wes J.

Your Focus Determines Your Reality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

