The 5 movies that influenced me the most

Saw this on my friends post, and liked it so much I decided to steal it. Here are my 5 movies that influenced me the most in my youth. Hope you enjoy.

5. Ace Ventura: Pet Detective

This film was the go to movie for my middle school teachers. Substitute? Ace Ventura. Rainy Day? Ace Ventura. Feeling Lazy? Ace Ventura. I saw this movie so many times, that it has been burned into my memory. Lucky for me, it’s actually a really funny movie that holds up well. This movie made Jim Carrey a star, and with good reason. Any film that includes the line, “Dan Marino should die of gonorrhea and rot in hell.” is worth another look.

4. Happy Gilmore

This was the Ace Ventura of my sophomore year of high school. It was impossible to get away from this movie. Again, lucky for me, it’s a really funny movie. To this day, every time I hear the opening melody to “Jump Around” a Happy Gilmore montage goes through my head. This movie reminds me why I give Adam Sandler the benefit of the doubt; it’s that good. It has a fight scene with Bob Barker for pete’s sake. Above all, this movie teaches us that friends can listen to “Endless Love” in the dark.

3. Episode I: The Phantom Menace

Being too young to see the original trilogy in theatres, this movie was going to be THE FILM that would define my senior year of high school, allowing everyone to bask in its glory. I went to the midnight showing of this, I wanted to see this movie so badly, that when I finally did, it made it sting that much more.

I’ve been a Star Wars fan since my Dad brought home a box set of the trilogy on VHS (remember those?) when I was in elementary school. I waited essentially my entire life to see Episode I, and I gotta say, I was disappointed. Ewan MacGregor and Liam Neeson are superb actors and Natalie Portman is really hot. Having a theatre within walking distance, my brother and I saw this movie 5 times that summer of 99. I hoped it would get better, but it never did, but still I returned, reluctant to believe that George Lucas himself would destroy his legacy like this. The ships looked too clean, the aliens were kinda racist, Darth Maul was a chump, and Jake Lloyd was annoying. How bad this movie is can all be summed up in 3 words. Any guesses? that’s right, Jar Jar Binks. Screw you George Lucas, and screw the yes men that never told you how bad an idea Jar Jar was. This movie would never had been as good as Empire, but without Jar Jar, this movie could have least been better than Jedi.

2. Goldeneye

I’m pretty sure I didn’t see this movie in theatres. I honestly don’t know when I first saw it, but that’s not why this movie made the list. this movie makes the list because I owned a Nintendo 64, and Goldeneye the video game is the game that is responsible for every quality first-person shooter that followed it. Without Goldeneye, there is no Halo, there is no Call of Duty, there is no Modern Warfare. This was the game that first made 4-player multiplayer something you could do for hours and hours and hours. We spent so many days shooting each other dead playing Goldeneye, and we loved every minute of it.

I saw the movie Goldeneye a few months ago on television, and the entire time I was thinking, “I remember this level. I remember that level too. Oh yeah, I remember driving the tank through Moscow. This level was so awesome.” On top of that, Goldeneye is one of the best Bond films. I know that doesn’t mean a whole lot, but according to my Direct TV, it got 4 stars. It’s also a who’s who of British actors, circa 1995. It’s hard to beat Minnie Driver singing Stand by Your Man in a Russian accent.

1. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze

I was in elementary school when TMNT first became hot. I watched the show religiously. I still have a chest full of action figures at my parent’s house. Remember the TMNT trading cards that were just stills from the show? I had the whole set, but I think it got disposed of around 1992. The first TMNT film I saw for my birthday that year. I think the first one is a better film; it’s more gritty and realistic, as far as mutant turtles go. But the reason this film made the top of my list is two-fold. Forst off, this was the first movie I saw in the theatre twice. To pay money again to see a movie in the theatre was an unheard of notion to my and my brothers prior to this. We saw the movie, then a few days later my grandmother who must have been 70 at the time, asked if we wanted to go to the movies, and TMNT II was the only thing showing. “Do we dare?” we thought. “Could we see the same movie again?” Very rarely do I see a movie more than once in theatres, but this movie was worth it. Ninja Turtles with Vanilla Ice? How can you beat that?

The second reason this movie is at the top of my list is because the first, and last, time I entered a school talent show, was to lyp-synch the Ninja Rap with a group of my friends in fourth grade. We practiced choreography, we feathered our hair just right, we had people dress-up like turtles and foot soldiers to fight at the base of the stage while we sang. It was going to be radical. What it was, was a total mess: forgotten lines (while lyp-synching mind you), missed steps, injuries. It was a complete failure on every level. But damnit, we tried, and we held our heads high. And that, my friends, is why Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze is #1 on my list of most influential movies. Now please enjoy the song stylings of one Mr. Vanilla Ice.

About Wes J.

Your Focus Determines Your Reality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The 5 movies that influenced me the most

  1. Kris says:

    Yeah, so everywhere i go now, where i see somebody trying something or riding rollerblades, or basically anything, i start singing the v-ice song, “go ninja, go ninja, go.”

    Thanks.

  2. Robert says:

    I take offense to “Goldeneye the video game is the game that is responsible for every quality first-person shooter that followed it.” First person shooters were huge for PC gamers long before Goldeneye the movie was even dreamed up. From Doom to Quake to Duke Nukem, FPS games had been constantly improving and by the time Goldeneye came out PC games looked and played better. Half-life and Counter-strike in particular are really the games that progressed single player and multiplayer to what it is now on both consoles and PCs.

    • Kryptonjedi says:

      While I will concede that PC’s had FPS’s long before consoles (Doom, Wofenstein, etc.), Goldeneye was the game that brought them to the masses, and was the first multiplayer FPS that didn’t require a LAN. PC’s are where innovation happens, but consoles are where money is made (WoW excluded, damn you Blizzard)

Leave a Reply

