Farewell, Star Tours

Today Star Tours closed in Disneyland. They are retooling the ride to make it 3-D, and set in the timeline between the trilogies, and is supposed to open back up some time next year. I was at Disneyland last week, and made sure I rode Star Tours one last time, and let me tell you, it kinda made me misty-eyed.

Standig in the line brought me back to 1987-88 when I first rode the ride with my family way back when. I remember my Dad had bought a mug from the gift shop before the ride, and stowed it in the netting below the seat per the pre-flight movie instructions, and when the ride was over, the mug was not there; it must have fallen out somewhere between the comet and the Death Star. My Dad complained to the kid manning the ride, but he told my Dad tough luck, and my Dad figured it wasn’t worth the trouble to rant and rave.

Here is a link to a video of the ride in its entirety (plus footage of the ambience created while standing in line). Enjoy the comedy stylings of your pilot Paul Reubens, and harken back to a time when rides were based on movies and not the other way around.

About Wes J.

Your Focus Determines Your Reality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farewell, Star Tours

  1. Estevan says:

    That ride is classic and brings back alot of memories. It definitely needs a makeover though. It was once ground breaking and cutting edge like starwars, but then it was old and nostalgic…just like starwars. Lol. Can’t wait to see the 3D updates.

    • Wes says:

      With the awesomeness that is the new King Kong feature at Universal studios (or so I’ve heard), hopefully Disneyland will step up their game with Star Tours 2.0

Leave a Reply

