Star Wars, Fate of the Jedi

I am a big Star Wars fan, especially of the books. I can’t remember when exactly, probably around 8th grade, when I first realized they had Star Wars books, and picked up Truce at Bakura, by Kathy Tyers. This book blew my mind; “Holy shit! The story continues? My life has meaning again!” Since then, I have read probably 95% of all the books, excluding the Young Jedi Knights stuff, and have purchased nearly as many. For the most part, the books have been good, particularly the novels that take place after Return of the Jedi, which allowed the authors some artistic freedom, and they have developed their own universe in turn. For the most part, the books work, and are entertaining and original. 

Unfortunately, you get the occasional book which is just lame. Let’s face it, the ghost of Ernest Hemingway isn’t standing in line to write a Star Wars novel. So sometimes the ability of the author to craft a story comes into question. Also, it’s a pretty safe bet that all the main characters make it out alive, so alot of the times, what are meant to be suspenseful situations just aren’t; except for this one exception. This happened to me when I read Millenium Falcon by James Luceno. Now, don’t get me wrong, Mr. Luceno has written some really good Star Wars books, but this one just didn’t work for me. Plus I bought the hardcover book, so the mediocrity of it stung more.

About a year ago, they started a new storyline, which typically last anywhere from 5-12 books. Burned by Millenium Falcon, I was wary of buying another untested hard cover book, so I held out for the paperback versions. Well, the other day at Wal-Mart I noticed that the first two of the series were now in paperback, so I bought the first one to check it out. I liked it; alot of themes they’ve been developing over the past years are coming to fruition, and I’m eager to see what develops.

I went to Barnes and Noble Monday Night to utilize my member discount and pick up the second book, but instead I purchased Orcs, by Stan Nicholls. This book has been at the back of my mind for some time now, and every time I wanted to buy it, it wasn’t available. I’ve always loved the simplicity of the title and cover, and this time it was there at the store, so I got it. About 100 pages in, and it’s looking like a good investment of my time. Kinda like Lord of the Rings from the perspective of an orc warband who has no say in what they do; they live only to fight and serve.

However, the book cost me a little under $15, my member discount of 10% being immediately offset by sales tax of 9.5%. So, I’ve already spent my $10 for the week, and another $4 from next week (I had a dollar left over from last week).

About Wes J.

Your Focus Determines Your Reality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

