A little piece of Star Trek in Riverside

The other weekend my father and I went to check out the new exhibit at the Riverside Metropolitan Museum, which concists of items from the now defunct “Star Trek Experience” which used to be at the Hilton Hotel in Las Vegas. The newspaper was hyping the exhibit quite a bit, and the museum said they expected it to bring in 40,000 people over its 8 month run. Factor in they were charging $15 dollars to get in the door, I had high hopes.

So, we walked into the building, and there was a guy sitting at a folding table who sold us the tickets. We walk 3 steps and hand our tickets to a lady who rips the stub off the ticket, and my immediate thought was “Couldn’t the dude at the table have done that and saved the museum some money in personnel costs, which they in turn would pass on to the consumer?” That did not set a very good precedent for the beginning of our adventure. I thought the exhibit was nice; I never saw the original deal at the Hilton. My father on the other hand, did see the original exhibit, and this one pales in comparison. The stuff they have is interesting: uniforms, props, set displays, etc. But, the exhibit is pretty small, and only takes 20-30 minutes to see everything. We went on the second Saturday it was open, and I saw 10 other people there, tops. There is no way they are going to get anywhere close to 40,000 people there. I don’t know whose idea it was to charge $15, but I can’t imagine they keep it that high for very much longer. Knowing what I know now, I could justify them charging $8 to get in, but until the admission price gets down to that level, I would avoid it.

About Wes J.

Your Focus Determines Your Reality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

